Healthy Snacks: 10 Great Options For Staying On Track!

28 Feb

Let’s face it- I’m not someone who has 5 or 10 pounds to lose. I have many, many pounds to spare {I’m giving them away for free, if anyone is interested}. Staying on track is difficult enough without the added, burdensome question: what to eat?

This is by no means a list to end all lists, but is simply a compilation of which snack foods I find to be most helpful in this weight loss endeavor. My list is based on foods that are beneficial to one’s overall health. They must also relatively filling, affordable and easy to prepare. So, without further rambling adieu, ladies and gents- the list:

10 Healthy Snack Ideas

1. Vegetables with Homemade Hummus {I have not actually made this recipe for hummus, so don’t get mad at me if it sucks. I was nice enough to include a link to the recipe, so just be grateful you didn’t have to look that up yourself.}

2. Walnuts or almonds. Measure according to the serving size, and store in small Ziplock bags. I keep pre-portioned bags in my car and purse for a quick and healthy post-workout snack.

3. Whole fruit

4. Green Monster Smoothie {more of a meal than a snack, but highly recommended for taste, convenience and nutritional value!}

5. Plain Greek yogurt. Add fresh fruit for flavor and added nutrition. It’s yum.

6. Frozen red grapes. Great for a warm weather snack!

7. 1 cup unsweetened almond milk with one serving of Post {unfrosted} shredded wheat, spoon size. I’m a recovering cereal addict, and this satisfies my carb cravings without the guilt.

8. Apple wedges with organic, reduced-fat peanut butter.

9. Pineapple wedges with Greek yogurt {plain or vanilla is best}

10. Reduced fat string cheese

So there ya have it. Nothing earth-shattering here, but maybe it will give someone some inspiration to put down the bag of Ruffles or that innocent looking “100 calorie” handful of cookies {yeah, I’m talking to you}. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

